06
Jul
11

A Message From The Author

Hi,

this blog was initially created to enable me to write my experiences and other informations I wanted to pass on to others and myself, if I ever need something again.
This has not changed.

The problem is, since I started writing about android and more specifically, the XT300 the number of visits of the blog have risen somewhat(in comparison of what they were before, the most visited post was about vBox and Vmware migration).

This is a problem since it tends to increase my guilt of not keeping the blog updated.

And it’s not that I don’t have some things to write about:
SESGC rom(SESGC_U3_10.10.0), which was in the motorola open-source projects in Sourceforge, apparently has the GPU activated, though it is mostly in chinese and does not have google integration.
-Back to hacking the XT300, since it now is recoverable with RSD(should test this first)
-My experiences with the Nexus One(vs the XT300) and details about the buggy touchscreen

If anyone has any other idea or suggestion, please tell me in the comments. Note that this blog is focused on specific knowledge, I try to consider all related info and warnings, but I’m not inclined to make very specific and n00b-proof guides.

Well, I feel a little better now, and you know now what’s to come.
This post is like TODO’s in src… not really useful but relieves the guild😀


3 Responses to “A Message From The Author”


  1. 2011/07/06 at 10:26

    Actually, i’ve been following your activity across several other forums. But one thing i’ve noticed is that the chinese ROM doesn’t have GPU enabled. Maybe the drivers are there, but i think it’s not implemented in the kernel. Several users reported that benchmarking tools had no difference at gpu acceleration between the brazilian and the chinese rom! But if the driver is there, i think it should be easy to enable it on the kernel. And if the speculations are correct, motorola should unblock all the bootloaders at the end of the year. Let’s keep looking for improvements over the little xt300!

    As for suggestions, i would propose you to be more newbie friendly in a post to enlighten us about the architecture, and how custom roms, cooked roms, and cyanogen mod works. Also, i’ve read that there are some phones that utilises dual boot to boot up custom roms, so if you could test it with xt300… Those are only ideas. I think that the development of something usefull will start from here, since there are really few developpers interested in hacking up the spice. Also, i noticed that there’s another device that looks like ours. It’s called MOTOROLA CITRUS, and it’s aimed for the north-american market.

    Good luck, and keep us informed!

    • 2011/07/06 at 10:38

      Nice! (no ‘First!’, hehehe)
      Thanks for your comment.
      That’s another thing I should post… how I ‘bricked’ my phone. I was trying to get the renderer to use the Adreno200, and was importing libs from an HTC phone. Then I overwrote the wrong lib and my graphical interface in android was gone… and no su, since it depends on the superuser app to allow it…

      When I have time I will take a look at the SESGC rom, see if there is something interesting…
      There is an app that show what OpenGL renderer is being used. Would have to check that.

      Yeah, I could write an intro to custom roms. Take in mind that the XT300 is my first device. Everything I know I learned since march, when I bought it and started messing around.

      Motorola Citrus? Will check.

  2. 2011/07/06 at 10:45

    Forgot to mention that I try to aggregate ‘unique’ or at least rare/new information in my blog. Writing something about a subject easily found with google is not exactly my thing😛

    Or that’s maybe just me being picky…


Leave a Reply

The Author

Older Ramblings

Tweets

Linux User Sig

