12
Jul
11

And there goes my new N1…

A friend of mine was in the US and I ordered a Nexus One through eBay which he brought back. I spent USD$270 on the N1, which is less than I spent on my XT300. (Great…)

First experience was AWESOME. Having a phone with android 2.3.4, faster and smoother experience than the XT300, no more that tiny screen, far better camera(5MP) than the XT300 3MP with flash and autofocus.

Of course, first thing I did was to unlock the bootloader through fastboot and flash the Clockwork recovery mod onto it. The mod even supports the N1’s trackball!

Then cyanogenmod 7.10-RC1-N1.

So, I was using the phone happily but had been noticing that sometimes the touchscreen hick-upped and I had to turn the screen off and on again to fix it. Nothing serious. Until it got worse, that is.

The first, say, 3-5 touches go correctly… then it all goes downhill. Using the Nexus live wallpaper, which lights up when it’s touched, I was able to track down the discrepancy of the touch. The faulty touch gets detected 2-3 cm above the lower screen end, but just height of the position is affected, the horizontal position continues to be acquired correctly.

First I thought it could be the cyanogen mod, so I switched to the 7.0.3 stable version. At first it was less frequent but then it got worse again.

Then I tried the stock, which is 2.2.1(FRG83)
The problem also got better than worsened as before.
After the OTA update to 2.3.4 nothing changed.

I’ve read that using the phone with low brightness helps somewhat.
Powering it on, I can unlock it. I go to a blank screen, and start playing with the nexus’s live wallpaper.
The third click goes to 2-3cm above the lower bar. For a time I the clicks register at the right place. Then the desktop tries to change screens, flickers.
The most annoying problem is that this happens while I try to use the back button, or select something from a menu and it simply registers my click with the wrong height.

Now I’m trying to get someone to fix this.
Since I don’t know if the problem can be fixed simply by replacing the digitizer(capacitive sensor), I won’t do it myself(digitizer could be bought at eBay and youtube shows how to replace).

I didn’t find any seemingly reliable repair shop that should be able to repair the phone.

I emailed my country’s HTC, they told to contact Google. In the htc’s international website it says that they would provide customer service. They say they are not responsible for hardware not sold in my country.Great.

The eBay seller is not able to ship it Brazil(my country, yes). I have no one that is going or coming back from the US to perhaps make the switch for me, and even if I were able to get a replacement phone from the seller, does not mean it would not present the same problem.

I was thinking of sending it back for a refund. Pity I don’t have the box anymore, just the accessories…

All in all, the thing I learned was to never buy a frigging HTC phone again. Having high hopes for the Nexus Prime. It’s not that I don’t like the phone. I find it very comfortable to hold and nice looking. The gray, which I thought would bother me, does not. The trackball is great for navigating in the Clockwork mod recovery.

UPDATE:
As it stands, I will try to send it back to the seller, with all accessories I have. He will send a new phone to a friend of mine in the US. Let’s see if this works out.


0 Responses to “And there goes my new N1…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Author

Older Ramblings

Tweets

Linux User Sig

